

## Associated Students of Santa Monica College Election Committee Special Meeting Minutes March 30th, 2017, at 1:15 PM 1900 Pico Blvd. Santa Monica, Ca. 90405 Cayton Center



**I.** Call to Order-1:15pm

II. Roll Call ICC Chair: Daniel Kaitel P

ICC Vice Chair: Katie Phung P

ICC Communications Officer: Anna Eyfer P

A.S. President Terrance Ware Jr. P

ICC Member Chen Ryan P
ICC Member Daniel Dayan P

Counselor/Student Advisor: Benny Blaydes L

**III.** Public Comments (3 minutes per speaker)

Dr. Grass- She is disappointed with this current election in terms of how people are treating each other and accusations of violations.

President- Disappointed by false and inaccurate information

A.S. V.P- Agreed with previous statements and stating how untrue full and how hard the current board has worked.

**IV.** Approval of Minutes from 12/1/16 and 4/8/16

ICC Chair has entertained a motion to move minutes to next meeting. Seconded.

- **V.** Elections Violation- At this time, the committee will discuss any violations of the election code that have been reported to them, as well as take action on them.
  - 5.1 Violation by Election Committee Member Chen Ryan: Accused of taking sides in election and posting inappropriate accusations on Facebook.

ICC Chair asked Chen Ryan to speak about a Facebook post that violated the election code. Committee discussed

Motion to remove ICC member Chen Ryan to the election committee by A.S. President, Seconded

ICC Chair: Daniel Kaitel: Aye ICC Vice Chair: Katie Phung: Aye

ICC Communications Officer: Anna Eyfer: Aye

A.S. President Terrance Ware Jr.: Aye ICC Member Chen Ryan: Abstain ICC Member Daniel Dayan: Aye

5.2 Violation complaint made by a former candidate, Ben Kolodny, about another candidate, Chase Matthews. Complaint alleged that Chase had claimed that the Turning Point USA Organization does not allow black and brown people to join. This was understood by Ben and two other candidates as also a criticism of the Moving Forward Slate in violation of Election Code #Section IX, number 4 Committee listened to statements from Chase Matthews and others as well as listened to a recording regarding this conversation.

Nothing was decided on what to do at this meeting, but will address at next meeting.

5.3 Jake entered the debate with A.S Budget Management as a Director of Outreach Entertain a motion to state whether Jake speaking with the A.S budget Management is a violation. So moved by A.S President.

ICC Chair: Daniel Kaitel Nay ICC Vice Chair: Katie Phung Nay

ICC Communications Officer: Anna Eyfer Nay

A.S. President Terrance Ware Jr. Nay ICC Member Daniel Dayan Absent

5.4 <u>Motion to postpone to disallow Snapchat geotags (filters) voting by A.S</u> president. Seconded. Consent Unanimous vote

ICC Chair: Daniel Kaitel Nay ICC Vice Chair: Katie Phung Nay

ICC Communications Officer: Anna Eyfer Nay

A.S. President Terrance Ware Jr. Nay ICC Member Daniel Dayan Absent

VI. Adjournment -2:57pm