# Meeting Minutes

**Date & Time**: Tuesday, March 26, 2024, 12:45-2:00 p.m. **Location**: HSS 261

<u>Zoom</u>

Chairs: Joelle Adams (Chair), Tammara Whitaker (Vice-Chair)

**Voting Members**: Fariba Bolandhemat, Vanessa Malzone, Corinne Haynes, Sandra Hutchinson, Maral Hyeler, and Paul Trautwein

**Interested Parties**: Diane Arieff, Lourdes Arevalo, Sheila Cordova, Clare Battista, Willis Barton, Dana Del George, Ashley Eutsey, Gary Huff, Matt Larcin, Sue Lee, Kas Metzler, Christine Miller, Angelina Masaghi, Steven Sedky, Scott Silverman, Odemaris Valdivia, and Kayli Weatherford

# I. Call to Order: 12:50 p.m.

## II. Public Comments

a. None

#### III. Announcements

a. None

## **IV.** Approval of Minutes

a. None

## V. Chair's Business

a. None

# VI. Discussion & Action Items

a. Conversation with Jason Beardsley, VP of Academic Affairs and Dr. Dione Carter Hodges, Dean of Academic Affairs



During the meeting, J. Beardsley and D. Hodges engaged in discussions regarding several pertinent topics. They delved into the trends in online education, addressing both the opportunities and challenges that accompany online teaching and learning. Additionally, they explored concerns surrounding current enrollment melt rates for online classes and examined future projections outlined in the strategic enrollment management plan. The committee posed a variety of questions that were addressed by the presenters.

One notable discussion point involved the committee's collective concern regarding the college's messaging and its predominant focus on promoting inperson classes, potentially overshadowing the benefits of online education. Recognizing the need for inclusivity, the committee and presenters agreed to embark on developing a "virtual campus consciousness." This initiative aims to raise awareness within the campus community about the integral role of online students and the importance of incorporating their perspectives into the college's framework.

VII. Adjournment 2:03 p.m.

Next scheduled meeting: April 23, 2024, 12:45 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

