Resource Guide for AB-540 Students


What is AB-540?

Signed into law in October 2001, California Assembly Bill 540 (AB 540) is a bill that provides an exemption to the requirement to pay nonresident tuition.  It was later adopted by the California Community Colleges (CCC) the California State University (CSU) and University of California (UC) systems.
Any student who meets the specific requirements shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition at all public colleges and universities in California. 
The current SMC  Enrollment Fee is $46 per unit (subject to change).


Who is Eligible?

Students who meet all of the following requirements:
  • You attended a California high school for three or more years.
  • You graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent of a high school diploma from California (e.g., GED or California Proficiency Exam).
  • You registered at a California Community College in Spring 2002 or later.
  • You completed a California Nonresident Tuition Exemption Request.







California Dream Act





Ø  AB-540 Affidavit







Campus Resources

Admissions and Records

Sandra Franco





Debra Locke


Natividad Vazquez




Financial Aid

Stacy Neal



Latino Center

Patti DelValle


Omar Padilla